Short answer
"Buffalo Lake loans" most often means the small installment loans of $200 to $2,000, repaid over 3 to 18 months, offered by Buffalo Lake Lending of Fort Thompson, South Dakota. The cost can be high, so compare the total of payments before you accept any offer.
Buffalo Lake loans at a glance
| Item | What public sources say |
|---|---|
| Loan amount | $200 – $2,000 (SuperMoney) |
| Term | 3 – 18 months |
| APR | Not disclosed on the SuperMoney page |
| Funding | Typically about one business day |
| Credit check | Hard pull; no minimum score stated |
| Where it lends | 33 states listed (see the state list) |
| Repayment | Installments, often by automatic bank debit |
These details come from public pages and can change. Confirm every figure on your own loan agreement.
How Buffalo Lake loans work
- You apply online and, if approved, funds are typically sent within about one business day (SuperMoney).
- Repayment is in installments; many borrowers report automatic bank debits on a set schedule.
- The lender runs a hard credit check and says it reports to the major credit bureaus.
See requirements for eligibility and documents, and login and payments for managing an existing loan safely.
What Buffalo Lake loans can cost
The APR is not disclosed on the page we checked, so the only reliable number is the one on your offer. In one BBB complaint, a $640 loan was repaid with six biweekly debits of $168.51: $1,011.06 in total, about a 387% APR. That is a single reported account, not a verified rate, but it shows why the total of payments matters more than the size of each payment.
Use our free APR calculator with the numbers from your own offer.
Who Buffalo Lake loans may and may not suit
May suit
- Someone who needs a small amount quickly and has compared the total cost with other choices.
- Someone who has seen the APR and total repayment in writing and can afford every scheduled debit.
May not suit
- Anyone who cannot comfortably afford every scheduled debit.
- Anyone who has not seen the APR and total repayment in writing.
- Anyone who could use a lower-cost option such as a credit union payday alternative loan.
Buffalo Lake loans compared with other small-dollar options
| Option | Typical size | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| Buffalo Lake loans | $200 – $2,000 | APR not disclosed publicly; total cost can be high |
| Credit union PAL (NCUA) | Up to $2,000 | Federal credit union rate cap; terms up to 12 months (PALs II) |
| Payment plan with your creditor | Your bill | Often no new loan or fee; ask before you borrow |
| Local assistance (211) | Varies | Help with rent, utilities and food; eligibility varies |
Read more on our alternatives page.
Checklist before you accept any loan offer
- Ask for the APR and the total of payments in writing.
- Check the payment dates against your pay dates.
- Find out how to stop automatic debits before you agree to them.
- Confirm you are on the lender's real website; see our legitimacy check.
- Borrow only what you can repay.
Avoiding confusion with other sites and places
"Buffalo Lake" is also a town in Minnesota, a lake in Alberta and a name used by unrelated sites. A separate website, buffalolakeloans.com, describes Buffalo Lake Lending loans; we have not verified who operates it. This website is independent and is not the lender.
Want to compare offers?
Our free loan request takes about two minutes and sends your details to lenders or lending partners who may contact you with offers. We are not Buffalo Lake Lending and not a lender, and we may be paid if you are matched. See the disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
What are Buffalo Lake loans?
Small installment loans of $200 to $2,000 offered by Buffalo Lake Lending, according to SuperMoney.
How much can I borrow with Buffalo Lake loans?
SuperMoney lists amounts from $200 to $2,000.
How long do Buffalo Lake loans last?
SuperMoney lists terms from 3 to 18 months.
Are Buffalo Lake loans expensive?
The APR is not disclosed on the page we checked, and complaints often focus on total cost. Get the total of payments in writing.
Do Buffalo Lake loans require a credit check?
SuperMoney reports a hard credit check. No minimum score is stated.
How fast are Buffalo Lake loans funded?
SuperMoney reports funding in about one business day after approval.
Is buffalolakeloans.com the same as the lender?
We have not verified how that site relates to the lender. Confirm the web address in your agreement before sharing personal data.
Are there cheaper options than Buffalo Lake loans?
Often yes. Credit union payday alternative loans, payment plans and local assistance can cost much less, but eligibility varies.
Sources
- SuperMoney — Buffalo Lake Lending Loan
- SuperMoney — Buffalo Lake Lending (company)
- Better Business Bureau — Buffalo Lake Lending profile
- Better Business Bureau — Buffalo Lake Lending complaints
- Banking Dive — NCUA payday alternative loans (PALs II)
Information was gathered from these public pages and checked on October 25, 2026. Pages can change; check the original before relying on it.
Related pages
Buffalo Lake Lending Loan Cost: APR, Fees & a Free Calculator
What a Buffalo Lake Lending loan can really cost. Free APR calculator, a worked example from a BBB complaint, and what to ask before you sign.
Buffalo Lake Lending Ratings & Complaints: What Borrowers Actually Report
What borrowers say about Buffalo Lake Lending on BBB, Trustpilot and SuperMoney: ratings, repeated complaints, and what to check before borrowing.
Buffalo Lake Lending Alternatives: Cheaper Ways to Cover a Short-Term Gap
Alternatives to Buffalo Lake Lending: credit union payday alternative loans, payment plans, local assistance, nonprofit credit counseling and more.
Buffalo Lake Lending States: Where Does It Lend?
Which states Buffalo Lake Lending lends in, according to SuperMoney: the 33-state list, states not listed, and how to confirm availability.